KENT COUNTY COUNCIL

MINUTES of a meeting of the Kent County Council held in the Council Chamber, Sessions House, County Hall, Maidstone on Thursday, 16 December 2010.

PRESENT: Mr W A Hayton (Chairman) Mrs P A V Stockell (Vice-Chairman)

Mrs A D Allen, Mr M J Angell, Mr A H T Bowles, Mr D L Brazier, Mr R Brookbank, Mr R B Burgess, Mr C J Capon, Miss S J Carey, Mr P B Carter, Mr N J D Chard, Mrs P T Cole, Mr A R Chell, Mr I S Chittenden, Mr L Christie, Mr G Cooke. Mr B R Cope, Mr H J Craske, Mr A D Crowther, Mr J M Cubitt, Mrs V J Dagger, Mr D S Daley, Mr M C Dance, Mrs T Dean, Mr J A Davies, Mr K A Ferrin, MBE, Mr T Gates, Mr G K Gibbens, Mr R W Gough, Mrs E Green, Mr M J Harrison, Mr C Hibberd, Mr P M Hill, OBE, Mr D A Hirst, Mrs S V Hohler, Mr P J Homewood, Mr E E C Hotson, Mr M J Jarvis, Mr A J King, MBE, Mr R E King, Mr J D Kirby, Mr J A Kite, Mr S J G Koowaree, Mr P W A Lake, Mr R J Lees, Mr J F London, Mr R L H Long, TD, Mr K G Lynes, Mr S Manion, Mr R F Manning, Mr R A Marsh, Mr M J Northey, Mr J M Ozog, Mr R J Parry, Mr K H Pugh, Mr T Prater, Mrs J A Rook, Mr L B Ridings, Mr M B Robertson, Mr A Sandhu, MBE, Mr J E Scholes, Mr J D Simmonds, Mr C P Smith, Mr K Smith, Mr M V Snelling, Mr B J Sweetland, Mr R Tolputt, Mrs E M Tweed, Mr M J Vye, Mr J N Wedgbury, Mr C T Wells. Mr M J Whiting, Mrs J Whittle, Mr M A Wickham Mr A T Willicombe

IN ATTENDANCE: Katherine Kerswell, Group Managing Director, Geoff Wild, Director of Law & Governance and Peter Sass, Head of Democratic Services & Local Leadership.

UNRESTRICTED ITEMS

1. Apologies

The Group Managing Director reported apologies from the following Members:

Mr R Bayford Mr R Bullock Mr N Collor Mrs J Law

2. Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest by any Member on the item contained in this agenda.

3. Appointment of Honorary Aldermen

(1) The Chairman announced that it was his great privilege and honour to preside over this special meeting of the County Council to confer the award of Honorary

16 DECEMBER 2010

Alderman to five of its most distinguished former Members, who had been judged to have provided eminent services, both to Kent County Council and the people of Kent.

- (2) The Chairman welcomed the nominees and their guests to the meeting, although noted with sadness the absence of Dr Stuart Cox, who was unwell.
- (3) The three Group Leaders all spoke briefly to introduce their nominations.

RESOLVED UNANIMOUSLY: that the following distinguished former Members of Kent County Council be awarded the status of Honorary Alderman:

Dr S J Cox JP Mr J Frisby Mr R H B Neame CBE, DL Mr W Newman DL Mr J A Spence OBE, DL

(4) The newly appointed Honorary Aldermen responded in suitable terms and offered their sincere gratitude for the honour bestowed upon them by the County Council.